Grabengasse 1
69117 Heidelberg
Phone +49 6221 54-19001 and -19002
Fax +49 6221 54-19009


Advisory Council
Legal Foundations
Publications (in German)


The Rectorate is responsible for university governance. It represents Heidelberg University externally, and coordinates the cooperation between university members internally. The Rectorate consists of two full-time members, the Rector and the Kanzler, as well as four part-time Vice-Rectors. The Rector and the Kanzler are elected to six-year terms. The Rector proposes the other four Vice-Rectors to the university Senate, who elects them to three-year terms. Within the university administration, each member is responsible for a specific area.


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Bernhard Eitel

Vice-Rector Research and Transfer
Prof. Dr. A. Stephen K. Hashmi

Vice-Rector International Affairs
Prof. Dr. Dieter W. Heermann

Vice-Rector Quality Development
Prof. Dr. Prof. h.c. Óscar Loureda Lamas

Vice-Rector Student Affairs and Teaching
Prof. Dr. Beatrix Busse

Dr. Holger Schroeter


Departments and Units

Heidelberg Alumni International


University Council and AAC Office

Communications and Marketing

University Archive


Rector's Commissions

'Quality Management in Student Affairs' working group (Ger)

Commission for Research and Strategy

Rector's Commission on Fair Conduct (Ger)

Rector's Commission for the "Studium Generale" lecture series (Ger)

Central Commission for Quality Assurance Funds (Ger)

Email: Editor
Latest Revision: 2018-12-06
zum Seitenanfang/up